I was playing basketball last week when the umpire made a call that totally confused me.
I went up to shoot and right at the start of my jump was clearly pushed. As I was still in the air, I steadied myself, and managed to still make the basket. Now in my experience, this could only be called one of two ways - either I was fouled before the shot, and it's a side ball, or I was fouled during the act of shooting and I get the basket plus one free throw. But the umpire said the basket didn't count and gave me two free throws.
This made no sense to me, but I played on, and after the game I asked him about it. I explained my above preconception, but he said no, there's a third option. He said that there can be more than one "shooting motion" in one jump - that I jumped, was fouled during my first shooting motion, and then I made a second shooting motion (in which I made the basket), but that didn't count. I said that does that mean that any "double pump" shot is actually two separate motions, and he said yes.
In 15 years of playing basketball, this is the first I've ever heard of such a rule. Players do this all the time - jumping, getting fouled in the air, steadying themselves with a "double pump" and shooting, and in my experience, it always counts.
I've had a look online but can't find anything that confirms or denies this. What do the rules actually say about this? Please only respond if you have a specific understanding of the rules, and have refereed for some time - I don't want to hear your "opinion" if you're just a player and you think you know, I want to hear if you actually know what the letter of the law says, and preferably if you can prove it from some documentation.
I DON'T KNOW WHY WE'RE YELLING.
So, do you have an intelligent answer, or are you just looking to troll?
I went up to shoot and right at the start of my jump was clearly pushed. As I was still in the air, I steadied myself, and managed to still make the basket. Now in my experience, this could only be called one of two ways - either I was fouled before the shot, and it's a side ball, or I was fouled during the act of shooting and I get the basket plus one free throw. But the umpire said the basket didn't count and gave me two free throws.
This made no sense to me, but I played on, and after the game I asked him about it. I explained my above preconception, but he said no, there's a third option. He said that there can be more than one "shooting motion" in one jump - that I jumped, was fouled during my first shooting motion, and then I made a second shooting motion (in which I made the basket), but that didn't count. I said that does that mean that any "double pump" shot is actually two separate motions, and he said yes.
In 15 years of playing basketball, this is the first I've ever heard of such a rule. Players do this all the time - jumping, getting fouled in the air, steadying themselves with a "double pump" and shooting, and in my experience, it always counts.
I've had a look online but can't find anything that confirms or denies this. What do the rules actually say about this? Please only respond if you have a specific understanding of the rules, and have refereed for some time - I don't want to hear your "opinion" if you're just a player and you think you know, I want to hear if you actually know what the letter of the law says, and preferably if you can prove it from some documentation.
I DON'T KNOW WHY WE'RE YELLING.
So, do you have an intelligent answer, or are you just looking to troll?