can you get 50cc twist n go sports bikes?

Beckie

May 13, 2008
i was really interested in getting a 50 cc sports bike but am scared about using gears and they cost too much, does anyone know if 50cc sports bike appearance twist'n'go bikes exist?? and if so what are some good ones you can get??
many thanks, beckie :)

As said the Gilera DNA is a twist and go with motorcycle styling.
However when you do your CBT (compulsory basic training) course you will probably be using one of the company's bikes as getting your own to the course is lots of hassle. This course is to teach you how to ride safely and is designed for complete novices so they will teach you how to ride a geared bike if you want meaning you can then choose whichever bike you fancy the look of whether auto or geared.
If you enjoy the 50 your CBT is valid for a 125 cc if you want to move up to a larger bike at 17 (I'm presuming you are wanting a 50 because you're 16)
Ignore the 'don't get a 50 they're so slow' brigade, yes a 50 is slow (30 mph) but then so is a 125 compared to a 1000 cc bike... a 50 gives you independent transport and if you look after it a second hand one won't lose much value as in a years time there will be plenty of people in your position of wanting a first bike if you want to trade up to a 125.
Good luck :)

Gilera DNA 50cc, It's automatic with a motorcycle style.

Edit: Gears are actuly easy to learn, it will become natural in short time. I had no idea how to do it either until I watched a few videos on YouTube. After watching the video, I managed to ride my geared machine without stalling it and I was used to it in a couple of hours or so. I also reccomended this video to a friend and it helped her out alot. Check - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdySkge4aKM - Video quality is not great but you can see what's happening.

As already mentioned, there is the Gilera, but tbh that's the only one I know of. 50cc "sports" mopeds usually have 5 or 6 gears.