Differences in styles of Karate?

jude

Jun 2, 2008
I am talking about the different techniques and fighting methods such as using range and timing or having better physical attributes such as power or speed. What are the differences in training, techniques and philosophies that each dojo teaches. Such styles as Kyokushin, Shotokan, Shorin-ryu, Goju-ryu and Ashihara. (I know Ashihara and Kyokushinkai are full contact).

Any other information is welcomed.

Thank you.
Thanks for that but I also meant to say what would the techniques be in general of those I mentioned, I meant are the focusing on defence as well as offence and if they would normally teach full contact and sparring just from those that you know yourself, but thanks anyway I'm still learning about the vast world of martial arts. Years of practice and study are worth every second.

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of styles of karate. To describe the differences between them would be impossible.

You also have to realize that no two dojo or instructors will teach a single style the same way, therefore there will be variations even within a style.

This gets further complicated if you add other martial arts to the mix.

These are generalizations, and can be disregarded at any point.

Goju has deep, stable stances and a lot of hand techniques. Also, Goju people can take punches well.

Kyokushin fighters can take punches well, and have a number of different striking attackes evolving from it's parent style, Shotokan.

Shotokan has too many Kata. Funakoshi was a teacher, and ultimately a kata collector. He'd find a Master in Okinawa who practiced 2 or three kata, and add those kata to Shotokan, his dojo in Tokyo.

Shorin-ryu is the style you can do when you're 95. According to tradition, it is the karate style that causes Okinawans to have the longest lifespan of anyone in the world. (the most "Centurians") It is upright, and straight forward, and Naihanchi is it's central kata.