My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding

VeronicaB

Mar 20, 2008
Did anyone watch this last night (UK mapers only)??

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/big-fat-gypsy-weddings

What did you think? Some truly OUTRAGEOUS moments, but I kind of admire some of their traditions and social beliefs.......

Because of ch 4's recent doozies, I was expecting it to be pretty awful, and expecting a follow up along the lines of 'when muslims and travellers meet', but actually I thought it was pretty fair and pretty illuminating.

It's a great documentary to do because their culture is so unknown to most people, and of course travellers are easy targets for stereotypes. I mean there were things I disagreed with (the grabbing ritual for example), but you can see pretty easily how important culture and tradition is to traveller communities, mainly because they have always been seen as and treated as outsiders.

I'm not an expert, but I think it's a half and half thing. Originally they were shunned, and their cultural difference has become a source of pride, hence the strong connection to tradition and all that. So now yes they do want to be 'outsiders' in a way, but I have a feeling they wouldn't be against 'mainstream' society being more accepting of how they choose to live.

Is this a rerun of a show that was aired some months back? With the bare knuckle boxer who really doesn't like being called a Pikey (although, has there ever been a show involving Gypsies that didn't feature an angry bare knuckle boxer)?

They did a one off programme of this a few months back and due to the success have done this mini series.

I have to admit, I was always kind of against travellers and the stereotypical view of them, but I have to admire their family loyalties and traditions of no sex before marriage, looking after each other and honouring their traditions. True, many of them go against "normal society's" views, but who are we to judge......