Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG Priority and Chains question?

Jack

Active member
I was dueling online earlier. My opponent had a full field of monsters. I activated "Monster Reborn" to Special Summon "Dark Magician Girl" from my Graveyard. I had "Sage's Stone" in my hand, he had "Torrential Tribute" face-down.

So what happened was this. I revived "Dark Magician Girl" and activated "Sage's Stone". Player B (as he shall be known) activated "Torrential Tribute", and had every right to chain it to "Sage's Stone" as a summon was the last action to resolve on the field. I would have expected "Torrential Tribute" to destroy all monsters, then for "Sage's Stone" to Special Summon 1 "Dark Magician" (so I could attack for game). "Sage's Stone" only requires "Dark Magician Girl" to be on the field during activation, by the way, so her being destroyed would have no effect.

Player B, however, claimed that I could not use "Sage's Stone" because summoning a monster automatically passes Priority to the opponent. Yugioh Wikia's page on Priority blatantly contradicts this, with the classic example of "Chaos Sorcerer" getting to put his effect as Chain Link 1. Player B also claimed that he could "chain to the summoning of Dark Magician Girl", despite the fact that a summon does not start a chain. Only card effects can start chains. He also said that "Torrential Tribute" would just destroy "Dark Magician" anyway, and seemed not to factor the chain into account here. When I got a Mod to rule, the Mod ruled in his favour. As there were no other Mods to appeal the ruling to, I ended up losing the game and being harassed and insulted by Player B in the chat for the next ten minutes (which I regrettably did not have the chance to report).

I was under the impression that my knowledge of the rules in this area was sound. Am I mistaken, or was that Mod just a bit dim?
 
Top