Am I supposed to tip Verizon FIOS installers?

AlanS

May 15, 2008
I am having Verizion FIOS installed for TV, telephone, and internet, which will be replacing my cable TV. My sister-in-law says I should tip them $5 each (2 people). I didn't know I was supposed to, I thought it was only furniture delivery people. Is she correct? Please answer soon before they are finished with their work.
I don't want to tip or not tip based on whether I'm grateful. I'm pay money for a job or service, and it should be done in a competent manner. It is simply a business transaction, and my gratefulness shouldn't matter. I'm a computer programmer (currently unemployed), and if I solve a problem for a client, I wouldn't expect a tip, because it is not customary and I'm just doing what I'm paid to do. (Although if they want to take me to dinner that is very nice, and praising me to my boss is always appreciated.)

I like to base my tipping decisions based on custom. I'm not going to tip when I go up to the counter and order ice cream, take out, etc., because it isn't customary and these people just want to make some extra money. I tip in a restaurant because it is customary, and also, restaurant workers are paid less and tips are a large part of their pay. I try to tip the customary amount, unless I feel that I have a very good reason to tip more or less.
To Earth2Dee, I always tip furniture delivery people because I believe that is customary, and these are usually low paid workers doing heavy manual labor. The only exception would be if they were careless or incompetent and damaged the apartment or furniture, and luckily this hasn't happened so far.