Just started playing magic and am not sure about the rulings of return ___ to its owner's hand.
Eg. can say when I play Lantern Spirit (U: Return Lantern Spirit to its owner's hand), and my opponent uses cancel, can I pay U and return Lantern Spirit back to my hand? If not and it goes to my graveyard, can I still pay U to return it to my hand?
Also can any player use this ability? Does this mean my opponent can pay U to return it to my hand to avoid being attacked? Then basically what's the use of this ability? Is it to evade from being blocked or being targeted by spells??
Thanks!
Eg. can say when I play Lantern Spirit (U: Return Lantern Spirit to its owner's hand), and my opponent uses cancel, can I pay U and return Lantern Spirit back to my hand? If not and it goes to my graveyard, can I still pay U to return it to my hand?
Also can any player use this ability? Does this mean my opponent can pay U to return it to my hand to avoid being attacked? Then basically what's the use of this ability? Is it to evade from being blocked or being targeted by spells??
Thanks!